Le centre

Le centre

About the CETHIL

The Center for Thermal Sciences of Lyon is situated in Villeurbanne (Lyon), on the Doua-Lyon Tech campus. The CETHIL depends on three institutions:

  • the CNRS , for which the laboratory is scientifically related to the INSIS (INstitut des Sciences de l'Ingénierie et des Systèmes) and the INEE (INstitut Écologie et Environnement), and administratively to the Regional Delegation Rhône Auvergne (DR7);

  • the INSA Lyon , the institution housing all its premises;

  • the UCBL (Université Claude-Bernard Lyon 1).

The CETHIL is the support laboratory of the MEGA Doctoral School (Mechanics, Energetics, Civil Engineering, and Acoustics, ED 162). As a result, a large majority of doctoral students are enrolled.

Today, the lab is structured in 5 themes, and 10 groups, which are detailed in the “Research Activities” main section (see main menu on top).

Some of the research is carried out within the framework of the EDF-CETHIL Joint Laboratory "Buildings with High Energy Efficiency" (BHEE) or LabCom (joint research program between an academic laboratory and an SME or a company of intermediate size) " Research, Analysis and Innovation for Burners of Growth Verneuil " (RAINBOV) with the company LE RUBIS SA.

The CETHIL's professors carry out their teaching in several institutions of Lyon. At INSA, the CETHIL is linked to the First Cycle Department (PC) and three second cycle departments, namely the departments of Energetic Engineering and Environment (EN), Civil Engineering and Urban Planning (GCU), and Mechanical Engineering and Design (GMC). The attachment to the UCBL is reflected in its involvement in the IUT (Institut Universitaire de Technologie) and its Civil Engineering and Thermal and Energy Engineering departments, as well as in the Mechanics department of the Faculty of Science and Technology (FST).


The Center for Thermal Sciences of Lyon was founded in 1982 under the title of " Center for Thermal Sciences of INSA Lyon" by the fusion of two laboratories (Laboratory of Industrial Physics, Laboratory of Fluid Mechanics and Thermics), and a team (Habitat Team), then joined in 1986 by another laboratory (Laboratory of Energetics and Automation) of the INSA Lyon. Initially, the CETHIL adopted a federated structure, the members working in a common disciplinary field, using shared means of work, and being in charge of the teaching of this discipline in different departments of the INSA Lyon . The laboratory is then associated with the University Claude Bernard Lyon 1 in 1996 and becomes the "Center for Thermal Sciences of Lyon". Associated with the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) in 1989, the laboratory obtained its status as a Mixed Research Unit (UMR) in 2000.
As for the scientific structure, the CETHIL was originally organized into 3 teams in 1997, then into 6 scientific themes in 2004, before adopting its current structure (5 themes and 10 groups) by a vote in general assembly on April 18th. 2013, which also marked its name change. The current director, Jocelyn Bonjour, succeeded Dany Escudié in January 2013.